The Time My Teacher Said I Was Only Allowed to Think if I Married a Rabbi

This came from Elana. 

I had to write a Chumash report in high school. My teacher (yeshivish) expected us all to spit back meforshim. I wrote a critical piece examining the perspective of various meforshim, and tied them together to form one novel opinion.

My teacher refused to accept it as valid “because you’re not a meforash.”

I protested that many people pen chiddushim, even if their name isn’t “Ibn Ezra.”

My teacher responded, “When your husband publishes his first sefer, I’ll give you an Aleph-Plus.”

I asked her, “How does my future husband validate my report? My report is independent of some future guy, and if it will be valid then it should be valid now!”
She just smiled and said something about nashim bmai zachyan.

The Time My Teacher Said I Was Only Allowed to Think if I Married a Rabbi

One thought on “The Time My Teacher Said I Was Only Allowed to Think if I Married a Rabbi

Leave a Reply

