The Time I Asked for an Email Address

This story from Kaylie. 

Back before we all knew how evil the internet is, my parents let me use it pretty much however and whenever. When I was in 7th grade, I asked my parents if I could get my own email address. My father laughed.

Apparently, he’d mentioned to my principal that I was allowed to use the internet. “You just wait,” my principal warned ominously. “Next thing she’ll be wanting her own email address!” And lo — he was right.

A few years later the school required us to give our passwords to our parents, so they could keep an eye on our online communication. I dutifully did so, and then changed it. My parents must have never bothered checking, because they never mentioned it.

The Time I Asked for an Email Address

Leave a Reply

