The Time My Teacher Buttoned My Shirt

You spend a lot of time sitting around and talking on Pesach, which is how I got this gem from Adina:

“I was walking down the street [on a Sunday] and my tznius button wasn’t buttoned. Because I never buttoned it unless I was at school because it made me feel like I was choking.
I ran into a teacher coming the other way. She saw my tznius button and she… Burst into tears.”
“Burst into tears?”
“Yes, she actually burst into tears. Then she reached over to my shirt and buttoned the button (on my shirt!), while saying, ‘Adina, how could you? And two days before Rosh Hashana…'”
“She buttoned your shirt?”
“Yes, and then we each continued on our merry ways.”
“Did you unbutton it again?”
“Yes of course. I had to breath. But the tears — I thought that was a little disproportionate.”
The Time My Teacher Buttoned My Shirt

Leave a Reply

