The Time Two Students Got in Trouble for Rapping About Dor Yeshorim

I feel a need to memorialize something that happened this week.
 
A couple of Bais Yaakov high school students filmed themselves performing a minute-and-a-half rap about how taking the Dor Yeshorim test was going to launch their life on the right path.
 
The song itself was good; the filming was awful, and it immediately went viral for three reasons:
 
1 – It was actually a good, funny social commentary (with some surprisingly decent beat boxing) and people were pleasantly startled to see this coming from a couple of Bais Yaakov students.
 
2 – Everyone wanted to speculate about when they’d be suspended for it.
 
I guess it took about 3 days, because as of this morning the video is no longer available at the original page of upload.
 
RIP, video. And best wishes to the students. Hope they aren’t in too much trouble.
 
Also, this reminds me of a previous post, where a video of high school hijinks caused more trouble than expected…
The Time Two Students Got in Trouble for Rapping About Dor Yeshorim

18 thoughts on “The Time Two Students Got in Trouble for Rapping About Dor Yeshorim

    1. BYGRAD says:

      I know the school because it’s in my neighborhood and EVERYONE here is talking about it. If the comments here are true, I’m really impressed the girls weren’t punished!

      Like

  1. BYGRAD says:

    If it gets taken down again, here are the really cute lyrics courtesy of genius.com:

    CHORUS
    Did Dor Yeshorim
    Cause I got Dor Yeshorim
    Cause I did Dor Yeshorim
    Cause I got Dor Yeshorim
    Hey! Hey! My chosson did it too
    Hey! Hey! Cause he’s a good Jew

    Doing this test to see if we’re a match
    And if it’s a yes, well I’m a really good catch
    Going on a date to look for a connection
    And under the chuppah, we’ll express our affection

    Got a diamond ring, timex piece[?] and rubies[?] and pearls[?]
    But this is expected for all the frum girls
    Walkin’ down the street with the face that’s glowing
    ‘Excuse me young miss, but can you tell that I’m showing?’

    Got my first of 7, tznius[?] and shtark
    Immersed in yeshiva, I’ve dealt with the hock
    Now my purple[?] have great personality and looks
    We’ll be getting resumes by the books

    Hold up. Huh. Wait rewind

    Let’s go back to kollel when we living on dimes
    Got a 2 bedroom ‘partment for us and 3 kids
    The kitchen’s so spacious, two people almost fit

    And then all of our money on tuition rent and food
    That a-hundred-a-week is really pulling us through

    Now I got my kids, raise ’em up with chinuch and patches
    All mensches of G-d, who frequently daven
    No they do Dor Yeshorim, go out, get wed
    Then they have their own kids and we start again

    Now I’m Bubbe he’s Zayde
    With a room full of toys
    Wait for our grandchildren to come make noise
    Give ’em 20 for Chanukah
    50 dollars for their birthday birthday birthday birthday (birthday)

    Now I’m lying in bed
    Hooked up to IV’s
    Wow, 120 did pass in a breeze
    Lived a full full life dedicated to Hashem
    Thanks Dor Yeshorim – this is the end

    CHORUS
    Did Dor Yeshorim
    Cause I got Dor Yeshorim
    Cause I did Dor Yeshorim
    Cause I got Dor Yeshorim
    Hey! Hey! My chosson did it too
    Hey! Hey! Cause he’s a good Jew

    We out

    Like

  2. Joy says:

    I just want to make you aware that the school is not punishing them. It was uploaded by accident and the girls are mortified.

    Like

  3. DF3 says:

    Also, taking a “profane” or “secular” art form and infusing it with something Jewish (and original, rather than parody) only stands to make it holy. It’s a safe bet that some kids the same age as these girls will appreciate it, and take away the message. Why isn’t that a good thing?

    Like

  4. Joel Garcia says:

    Sincerely hope these girls don’t get punished as they have nothing to be ashamed of as there’s nothing against Halacha they have transgressed and they are just showing some personality and evident talent. They were simply having fun & they never intended on spreading this video.

    Like

  5. Esther says:

    I can confirm they did not get in trouble. And most of the feedback I’ve seen has been positive. Just gotta ignore the trolls…

    Like

  6. BYGRAD says:

    Glad to hear they’re not in trouble!

    Was cracking up to see Dor Yeshorim’s PR statement that they published… This video has gotten a life of its own.

    Like

Leave a Reply

