The Time I Asked a Question in the Discussion Class

Hey! It’s me again, Fisch.

I left off at the point where I told you about my experience with the college discussion and Rebetzin Hertz. I promised you guys another college tale with a different Rebetzin. But let me preface that with another story to introduce this Rebetzin and the forum in which I asked College Question: Take Two.

For those of you that thought that my experience discussing college with Rebetzin hertz was enough to dissuade me from bringing up the topic again, you thought wrong! But instead of bringing it up during class time as a much needed change in topic: this time I had the perfect opportunity.
The newly instituted “chinuch period” was BYs way of becoming more open-minded. During the week you had the opportunity to drop anonymous questions in a box. The questions were reviewed during chinuch period by your homeroom (aka Chumash) teacher.
I have to say that given my experiences thus far in the school, I was highly impressed by this new addition to the curriculum (no really). I mean if this is not moving forward in the world what is?
Anyway, the anonymity of the chinuch period was debatable, especially if you had a distinct handwriting, and even more especially if you were me — the lone voice and sole supporter of the chinuch period weekly.
I mean, sure, we had the occasional question from someone else about what was the correct order to place your sefarim underneath your desk, but generally speaking I was the lone soldier on a quest for information. And under this (semi guise of) anonymity, I felt even more at liberty to voice any and all questions and thoughts.
An example of one of my questions was: They say that a bas kol announces a persons zivvug 40 days before the child is born. So. What happens if the intended-husband dies? What happens if she remarries? What happens if there’s divorce? What happens if someone never marries?
Now, our homeroom teacher, the wonderful and super aidel Rebbetzin Rubniss, was really a doll. Living in Bensonhurt and supporting her husband in Torah, she truly represented what it meant to be a BY role model and we all admired her. (Seriously.) She respected each and every student and I will never forget how she looked at each one of us and smiled after saying our name during attendance. I genuinely admired her and still do.
 Having said that, let’s not kid ourselves. She was ill-equipped to answer more than the order-of-sefarim-under-your-desk sort of question. And  zivvug rishon sheini shlishi or none at all was not only not beyond her framework but probably the equivalent of asking her about other life forms. Way beyond her capability.  I bet you’d all love to hear the answer she gave though!
(Y’all ready for this?)
So on that day: Reb. Rubniss read the question in her sweet timid voice, bent over in her usual aidel, semi-hunched position and began her response to my zivug question. I’m sitting at my desk genuinely thinking there’s an answer to be heard when lo and behold she begins:
“It’s a delightful experience to walk into a Chinese restaurant.”

(Me: changes position from one of pleasant curiosity to sitting upright overwhelming 100% confusion. Okay Whaaaa? Chinese restaurant?!)

“It’s a delightful experience. I absolutely love to dine there.”
Me in head: Same! But what the heck does this have to do with our topic?
“We sit and order wonderful dishes and have a genuinely delightful time. However,” now she finally looks up and smiles timidly, “I really have no idea how to make any of the dishes. I wouldn’t know what to do. I don’t work in the kitchen. If I did I would know how to make the dishes. I’m not up in heaven,” she finished, smiling timidly.
And satisfied with her (non) answer she moved on to the next question.
As for me I was just visualizing some of the Chinese dishes she just listed… Darn did she really have to use  a food analogy?
This is the pre-cursor to whet your appetites for our college discussion. 🙂
Till next time!
The Time I Asked a Question in the Discussion Class

2 thoughts on “The Time I Asked a Question in the Discussion Class

Leave a Reply

