Why I Didn’t Close My Top Button Upon Request

From RT

We had one teacher who, whenever she walked into the classroom, would announce that everyone needed to close their top buttons because otherwise, the shechina would not be shoreh in our classrooms.

Most days, I wouldn’t bother; I would fiddle around my neck a bit like everyone else, but never actually button the button.

One day, she noticed.

“Why didn’t you close the button?” she asked.

“My shirt is too small, if I button the top button I can’t breath.”

“Oy, that’s terrible. Should I call Hatzola?”

Her snark still makes me laugh. And my level of respect for her went up quite a bit after that day.

 

Why I Didn’t Close My Top Button Upon Request

3 thoughts on “Why I Didn’t Close My Top Button Upon Request

  1. momsterid says:

    I have a very low collarbone, and my mother and teachers always harped on me to button the top, but I really felt choked, and besides, my collarbone was covered. It just looked low.
    When I got engaged, and was getting fit for my gown, the seamstress kept making the collar lower. My mother told her that it looks too low, to which the seamstress replied “if I make it any higher, she”‘ll feel like she’s choking. She has too low of a collarbone.”

    Ah, the wonders of validation.

    My mom never bothered me again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

